Banking holidays in New Zealand


The New Zealand government has confirmed all of the following bank holidays. If you want, you can consult more information about each holiday here. Or, read on to learn more about the greats.

Another note: All of these holidays apply to the BIG 4 banks as you see above (ANZ, BNZ, Westpac and ASB if you can’t see the picture). They will also apply to other banks currently operating in New Zealand.

Speaking of which, we have a small section on the site where you can check all New Zealand banks and general information about them. Some of this information includes contact details, branch and ATM locations, where they are headquartered, and their SWIFT code (if any).

If you are looking for a specific SWIFT code, we will save you time and direct you to the ANZ or ASB code, the two most popular codes in New Zealand.

Banking holidays in New Zealand

As you may or may not be aware, New Zealand was made up of several provinces until the abolition of the provincial government in 1876. From that day on, each province joined to form the New Zealand of today.

In commemoration of each of the states, the current New Zealand government still celebrates bank and public holidays on each of the state’s founding days.

Taranaki Anniversary

Asal ahaan waxaa loo yaqaan Gobolka New Plymouth, waxaa loo beddelay Gobolka Taranaki lix sano ka dib markii la aasaasay 1859.


Gobolku wuxuu lahaa afar kormeere intii uu noolaa:

  • Charles Brown
  • George Cutfield
  • Henry Robert Richmond, and
  • Frederic Carrington

Southland Anniversary

Southland was first united in 1861, after being separated from Otago. Not wanting to be on their own, they soon rejoined Otago in 1970. As you now know, they were together for a short 6 years before the current government was formed.

April 1, 1861 is the official anniversary and public holiday date, but as it sometimes happens at Easter, the Southland Anniversary is sometimes pushed back to April 3 (which is exactly the same as in 2018).

Southland has had three superintendents during its 15-year history:

  • James Alexander Robertson Menzies
  • John Parkin Taylor
  • William Wood

Westland Anniversary

Established on December 1, 1973, the Westland Province had one of the shortest useful lives of all. It would be barely three years before New Zealand brought all its provinces together and formed a single group.

In 2018, since December 1 is a Saturday, the holiday will be pushed back to December 3 (Monday).

Only one man held the title of overseer during his lifetime:

  • James Bonar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *